In details

English units of measure

Also called imperial measurement, the English unit is the name given to various units of measurement used in the United Kingdom until 1824.

This year, the Weights and Measures Act (legislation by which the British Parliament regulates weights and measures) standardized this system, retaining most unit names but changing some of its definitions.

English language students may have noticed that these units are quite different from ours. This is a very creative measurement system that uses body parts or objects as a reference for measurement. Among the main units we can mention: inch, foot, yard and mile.

Which countries do you use?

The only countries that still adopt this system are Liberia, Myanmar, England and the United States. Colombia uses this type of measure for volumes only.

Even with the adoption of the International System of Measures (IS) in 1960, the United States continued to use units inherited from England, which in turn inherited them from Romans and Anglo-Saxons. One of the reasons for the non-adherence of the United States is the cost to industry to adapt.

Currently, the systems used in the United States and England are quite similar, with a few differences arising from commercial or cultural issues.

Length units

In the United States, the system for measuring lengths is based on inch, foot, yard and mile. Here's how much each of them equals in our decimal metric system.

Inch = 2.54 cm
Foot = 30.48 cm
Yard = 91.44 cm
Land mile = 1,609.344 m

We'll study each of these top units below and see examples of conversions.